San Diego Spreads the Love at the Annual Music Awards – NBC 7 San Diego

Stages held the San Diego Music Awards for the 31st time on Tuesday night on Shelter Island, with longtime local performer Sara Petite taking home three awards, including album of the year, for her release “Rarebird”.

About 1,000 members of San Diego’s music scene – bands, club operators, fans and family members of musicians – turned out for the outdoor event, held again this year at Humphrey’s By the Bay. Twenty-eight awards were presented, including one to jazz singer Jesse Davis, who won the Lifetime Achievement Award.

John Hancock

Riston Diggs won Best Hip-Hop/Rap Artist and Best Album in the same category for “35.” Photo by John Hancock.

“A sophisticated jazz and standards singer, he has been a staple of San Diego clubs and lounges for more than five decades, entertaining hundreds of thousands in the process,” the music awards Facebook page said. describing Davis.

Petite, whose sound leans somewhere between country, American and rock, also landed the statuettes for best country or American artist and best country or American album, also for “Rare Bird”.

Many other Petite nominees went home with a pair of awards to keep them company, including Riston Diggs, for Best Hip-Hop/Rap Artist and Best Album in the same category, for “35”; North County psych rockers Aviator Stash, who won Best Independent/Alternative Artist and Best Independent/Alternative Song for “She’s Money”; San Diego band Ms. Henry, whose Best Rock Album award for “Keep on Rising — Act I: The Sex Sells, Love Drugs, Rock n Roll Society” no doubt also helped them scoop the award for best rock band; and Rebecca Jade, winner of the San Diego Music Award for Artist of the Year 2020, with two wins Tuesday night for her song “What’s It Gonna Be.” for Best Video (nearly 125,000 streams!) and for Best R&B, Funk, or Soul Song.

The presenters, as usual, were personalities from the San Diego music scene and media landscape and included Ramon Galindo, Sergio Flores and Michelle Rodriguez from NBC 7 and Telemundo 20.

Live performances at Humphrey’s helped break up award shows and acceptance speeches, with appearances from Mrs. Henry and Diggs; plus short sets from Slack Key Ohana (who also won an award for Best World Music Album (s/t); the Sully Band (nominated for Best R&B, Funk or Soul Song); Tamar Berk (nominated for Album of the Year and Best Pop Album, for “The Restless Dreams of Youth”); and Ira B. Liss Big Band Machine.

Tamar Berk, nominated for both Album of the Year and Best Pop Album, for “The Restless Dreams of Youth,” was among the performers at the 2022 San Diego Music Awards on Tuesday night. Photo by John Hancock.

The Best New Artist award went to newcomers Lords of the Satellite, a largely Ocean Beach-based quartet born out of a pandemic that stand out for their heavier, bass-driven fuzz rock. and the guitar.

Jade also wowed the crowd at the after-party, performing at nearby Humphrey’s Backstage Live club.

A full list of winners:

  • Best Folk/Acoustic Song: Lindsay White – Piece of Quiet
  • Best Folk or Acoustic Album: Whiskey & Burlap – Around the Bend
  • Best Jazz Artist: Ed Kornhauser
  • Best Blues Artist: Taryn Donath
  • Best Jazz or Blues Album: Chickenbone Slim – Serve It To Me Hot
  • Best Country or American Artist: Sara Petite
  • Best Country or American Album: Sara Petite – Rare Bird
  • Best Hip-Hop/Rap Artist: Riston Diggs
  • Best Hip Hop/Rap Song: Crymes – More Divide
  • Best Hip-Hop/Rap Album: Riston Diggs – 35
  • Best Pop Artist: Evan Diamond
  • Best Pop Song: Lauren Leigh – Trust Fall
  • Best Pop Album: The Verigolds – Take it to the Sun
  • Best Rock Artist: Mrs. Henry
  • Best Rock Album: Mrs. Henry – Keep On Rising – Act I: The Sex Sells, Love Drugs, Rock N Roll Society
  • Best Rock Song: Jon Campos & The Incurables – Birds of A Feather
  • Best Independent/Alternative Artist: Aviator Stash
  • Best Independent/Alternative Song: Aviator Stash – She’s Money
  • Best Independent/Alternative Album: The Petty Saints – Long Way Home
  • Best World Music Album: Slack Key Ohana – s/t
  • Best R&B, Funk or Soul Song: Rebecca Jade – What’s It Gonna Be
  • Best R&B, Funk or Soul Album: Tonya Jae & Carlo V. – Sweet Talk
  • Best Local Recording: Sue Palmer & Her Motel Swing Orchestra – Movin’ Along
  • Best Video: Rebecca Jade – What’s It Gonna Be
  • Best New Artist: Lords of the Satellite
  • Song of the Year: Thee Sacred Souls – Will I See You Again
  • Album of the Year: Sara Petite – Rare Bird

Comments are closed.